pure maths undergrad applies to applied maths PhD?

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
semigroups

pure maths undergrad applies to applied maths PhD?

Post by semigroups » Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:05 am

I am a student from the University of Auckland (the leading uni in NZ; I know two former students from my uni who were admitted by Princeton graduate school in maths, but both of them are pure mathematicians).

I have just completed my honours degree in pure maths with 10 graduate courses.

I am doing a master programme this year in theoretical fluid dynamics. I will complete two further graduate courses this year.

My dream is to apply pure maths knowledge (especially all types of Analysis) to mechanics such as fluid dynamics, should I apply to applied or pure maths graduate programme?

If I should apply to applied maths programme, will my strong background in pure maths be a disavantage to my applications? (Because I did not take courses like stochaistic analysis, dynamical systems,inverse problems, advanced statistics etc. Although after a glance of them I found them much easier than those pure maths courses that I have taken)

Btw, I have also completed an honours degree in civil engineering (my parents forced me to do it), in that programme I have done some maths modelling courses. I co-authored a paper in the field of earthquake engineering.
Will my civil engineering backgroud support my applications?

I am worried now because I'm afraid that my Pure maths and Civil Engineering background will hurt my applications to top US graudate schools in Applied maths. I appreciate any suggestions!
Last edited by semigroups on Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

IIIII

Re: pure maths undergrad applies to applied maths PhD?

Post by IIIII » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:38 am