Admission chances?

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
kenansense

Admission chances?

Post by kenansense » Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:57 pm

Hello everyone,

School: unknown liberal arts college in TX - went there for great pre-med reputation, aced pre-med classes but ended up changing paths halfway through as I realized I definitely preferred logical thinking to memorization
Major: math (w/honors)
GPA: 3.99 (4.00 major)
Classes: Cal I/II - S (AP credit)
Cal III - A+
Lin Alg - A+
Real Analysis - A+
Abstract Algebra - summer 2010 independent study (for no credit, unfortunately; my school was not offering alg. until after I graduated)
Complex Analysis - Fall
Number Theory - Fall
Topology - Spring
Diff Eq - Spring

GRE General: 690V/720Q
GRE Subject: September

Honors Thesis: circle packing (starts in fall)
Research interests: unsure; my school doesn't offer math research experiences until senior year, though analysis and algebra both are really interesting/fun

Pros: have been to math conference, made contacts in circle packing field at Texas Tech, University of Tennessee-Knoxville; good rec letter from the one math professor I have had for classes so far
Cons: small, unknown school; small math department; have only taken classes from one math professor (I didn't mean for it to happen like that, it just did since there are only 3 in the department). Have a pretty good rec from my old bio research instructor I could use.

Schools to which I'm applying:
Reaches: UT-Austin, Duke, Rice
Matches: Boston University, Texas Tech, University of Georgia, UOregon, UTennessee-Knoxville, Florida State, Temple University
Safeties(?): Texas Tech, Portland State