Best way to prepare given my background?

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
Mathemagician

Best way to prepare given my background?

Post by Mathemagician » Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:53 pm

Hi all,

I graduated last year from a small liberal arts college with a double major in math and economics. After working for a year I've decided I want to prepare an application to a math PhD program. I purchased a few textbooks in topics I hadn't covered (complex analysis and differential equations are the big ones I haven't seen, and I also purchased a grad school text on analysis) and have been reading through them at a casual pace, but after a glance at this forum it's obvious I need to make a more deliberate and focused effort.

I've taken courses in topology (with some algebraic topology), advanced abstract algebra (including Galois theory), advanced set theory/foundations (including axiom of choice and equivalents, Godel theorems, ultrafilters), linear algebra, and real analysis, as well as some more basic courses (calculus, cryptology, etc.) with an A- in Calc 3 and an A in everything else. I performed summer research in voting theory which progressed into an honors thesis; my advisor is currently publishing a paper with me as one of the co-authors. I am extremely close with the faculty and should have particularly strong letters of recommendation.

Unfortunately a hell of a lot of the problems I've seen here require techniques I haven't been trained in, so I'm a little worried and fear that reading up on subject after subject that I haven't seen may not be the best way to prepare. In addition, I feel like I may need to invest at least some time reviewing previous coursework. So I'm feeling overwhelmed and unsure how to proceed.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :)

owlpride

Re: Best way to prepare given my background?

Post by owlpride » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:20 am

Are you studying for the Math Subject GRE or in preparation for graduate school?