Confused, where to start.

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
priyanshu

Confused, where to start.

Post by priyanshu » Mon Dec 26, 2022 6:07 am

Hi everyone, I am new here. I am a first master's student (mathematics and computing) in India (in one of the NITs).
I have always been interested in mathematics and am willing to study more so I am thinking of a Ph.D.
But for starters, I have no research experience yet and I fairly like all disciplines like algebra and analysis. I am very confused about how to go about researching and writing my own papers to build a better CV.
Also, the sample papers for GRE seemed not so hard for me so I am a bit confused about the difficulty level of this exam.
Please guide me on a rough pathway to what should i do so in my next three semesters along with my studies to become a catch for the universities.
Btw my score in my bachelor math honors is 7.9/10. Is it bad?
Thankyou.

crepant

Re: Confused, where to start.

Post by crepant » Mon Dec 26, 2022 11:00 am

The situation might be very different between Universities. In my University, you need to choose a professor to work with when you start your master's degree. If not, you should find a professor to work with as soon as possible. You said that you are basically interested in everything, but you still need to choose one to start with, that would be worth it even if you ended up quitting. If you genuinely don't know, choose the professor who looks friendly.

You can consider asking the professors and your seniors about admission results. And you can choose the schools based on the feedback. (For example, you may know whether 7.9/10 is a good score.) You can pick 30 schools in the same ranking and start to look at the faculty members to target 10 schools. (Of course, the numbers are just hypothetical)

You can check the admission website of those schools. They will tell you what to do to improve your application, and what they are looking for.